Golf Course Management

APR 2013

Golf Course Management magazine is dedicated to advancing the golf course superintendent profession and helping GCSAA members achieve career success.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 75 of 141

Patrick R. Finlen, CGCS, takes the podium following his election as GCSAA's 2013 president. Shepard, Roy J. Crow, Ryan Higgins; faculty sponsor, Kevin Matthias 4th. Team 43, University of Maryland — Justin Patenaude, Scott Hosier, Brian Hogan, Brent Waite; faculty sponsor, Kevin Matthias 5th. Team 10, Iowa State University — Casey Sheehy, Evan Alderman, Spencer Nelson, Andrew Doyle; faculty sponsor, Nick Christians 6th. Team 20, Rutgers University — Kyle Genova, Nicholas Delmar, Gregory Benz, Kenneth MacNish; faculty sponsor, Richard Hurley 7th. Team 11, Cal Poly-Pomona — Robert Micklis, Daniel Schubert, Larry Heath, Raul Martinez; faculty sponsor, Kelly Parkins 8th. Team 58, Colorado State University — Nick Bovino, Parker Ray, Aaron Paz, Dan Spague; faculty sponsor, Tony Koski 9th. Team 54, Penn State University — Matthew Harvey, Stephen King Jr., Tyler Patton, Will McNeal; faculty sponsors, John Kaminski and Max Schlossberg 10th. Team 8, University of Tennessee — Jacob Reagan, Dalton Wayman, Wes Mackie, Cory Yurisic; faculty sponsors, Brandon Horvath and John Sorochan 66 GCM April 2013 GCSAA elects Finlen president, passes dues increase GCSAA elected Patrick R. Finlen, CGCS, as its president for 2013 at the association's annual meeting, Feb. 7 in San Diego. Finlen, who was promoted last month to the position of director of golf at The Olympic Club in San Francisco, received the gavel from 2012 GCSAA President Sandy G. Queen, CGCS, who remains on the board of directors as immediate past president. "This is a time of great opportunity for GCSAA," Finlen told the assembled voting delegates. "We are going to get a lot accomplished." Earlier in the meeting, voters overwhelmingly approved a proposal that increased GCSAA membership dues by $25 for Class A and Superintendent Members and by $15 for Class C members. Keith A. Ihms, CGCS, the director of grounds maintenance at the Country Club of Little Rock (Ark.), was elected vice president, and John J. O'Keefe, CGCS, the director of golf course management at Preakness Hills Country Club in Wayne, N.J., was elected secretary/ treasurer. Darren J. Davis, the superintendent at Olde Florida Golf Club in Naples, Fla., and Peter J. Grass, CGCS, the superintendent at Hilands Golf Club in Billings, Mont., were re-elected to the board to fll two-year terms as directors, and John R. Fulling Jr., CGCS, the superintendent at Kalamazoo (Mich.) Country Club, was newly elected to a two-year term. Bill H. Maynard, CGCS, of St. Albans Country Club in St. Louis, and Rafael Barajas, CGCS, at Hacienda Golf Club in La Habra Heights, Calif., remain on the board with one year remaining in their two-year director terms. The board of directors, delegates and other GCSAA members honored Robert M. Randquist, CGCS, from Boca Rio Golf Club in Boca Raton, Fla., as he retired from the board after serving the last year as immediate past president.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Golf Course Management - APR 2013