Golf Course Management

DEC 2018

Golf Course Management magazine is dedicated to advancing the golf course superintendent profession and helping GCSAA members achieve career success.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 44 of 101

12.18 GOLF COURSE MANAGEMENT 41 The Old Tom Morris Award was presented for the first time during the 1983 Conference and Show in Atlanta. It is given to an individual or family who, "through a continuing lifetime com - mitment to the game of golf, has helped to mold the welfare of the game in a manner and style exemplified by Old Tom Morris." The GCSAA Board of Directors determines the recipient of the honor, which is presented annually at the GCSAA Golf Industry Show. The presentation in San Diego will take place Feb. 6, 2019, during the Opening Session, which is presented in partnership with Syngenta. 1983: Arnold Palmer 1984: Bob Hope 1985: Gerald R. Ford 1986: Patty Berg 1987: Robert Trent Jones Sr. 1988: Gene Sarazen 1989: Juan "Chi Chi" Rodriguez 1990: Sherwood A. Moore, CGCS 1991: William C. Campbell 1992: Tom Watson 1993: Dinah Shore 1994: Byron Nelson 1995: James Watson, Ph.D. 1996: Tom Fazio 1997: Ben Crenshaw 1998: Ken Venturi 1999: Jaime Ortiz-Patiño 2000: Nancy Lopez 2001: Timothy W. Finchem 2002: Walter Woods, Esq. 2003: Pete Dye 2004: Rees Jones 2005: Jack Nicklaus 2006: Joseph M. Duich, Ph.D. 2007: Charles Sifford 2008: Greg Norman 2009: Col. John Morley 2010: Judy Rankin 2011: Nick Price 2012: Peter Jacobsen 2013: Mike Hurdzan, Ph.D. 2014: Annika Sorenstam 2015: Dan Jenkins 2016: Herb Kohler Jr. 2017: Paul R. Latshaw 2018: Ernie Els 2019: The Powell family Old Tom Morris Award winners died at 93 in 2009. Yet his acts of bravery and a determination to overcome racial injustice helped shape his legacy. It has taken a slew of people through many decades to keep the dream alive. "I can't emphasize enough that this course would not be here without the help of so many people," Larry says. "At a small operation like this, it was critical for the survival of Clearview. It took a family." What the Powells achieved at Clearview has been applauded and recognized on many occasions. e latest distinction comes in the form of GCSAA's highest honor: e Powell family is the recipient of the 2019 Old Tom Morris Award, which has been presented annually since 1983 to an individual — and now a family — who, through a continuing lifetime commitment to the game of golf, has helped to mold the welfare of the game in a manner and style exemplified by Old Tom Morris. ey'll officially receive the award Feb. 6 at the Golf Industry Show in San Diego during that event's Opening Session, which is presented in partnership with Syn - genta. A football legend who was at the center of one of the most famous plays in the sport's history understands the importance of how far Bill Powell's imagination and grit took him. "He had that determination, that drive, all for the love of the game. I mean, he just took it to a new level of appreciation," says Franco Harris, the iconic running back for the Pittsburgh Steelers, who was on the receiving end of the "Immaculate Reception" in a 1972 AFC divisional playoff game — as well as golf lessons from Bill Powell. "When I was introduced to Mr. Powell, really, it was meeting history."

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Golf Course Management - DEC 2018